Revival of a lost artform

Image
My treasured heirloom handmade crochet supper cloth by my grandmother

Crochet is such a beautiful craft and something I could not master but both my Nana and Mum became very skilled at. Proudly displayed on the family dining table handed down to me is my 32-year-old supper cloth I was given for my 21st birthday from my beloved grandmother. The supper cloth is a labour of love taking hours of work, and hundreds of dollars worth of material. I used to go with Nana on her craft buying missions and hear her complain about the cost of the cotton. I can only imagine what this project would have cost her. To add to her woes she was going to be making one for each of her 9 grand-daughters before she lay to rest.
History of crochet is quite interesting and quite varied depending on the source, the link below is a very good piece of literature by Ruthie Marks. Hope you find it interesting.
http://c.ymcdn.com/sites/www.crochet.org/resource/resmgr/pdf/history-of-crochet-rm.pdf

Leave a Reply

